On Being Wrong

Are you afraid of being wrong? I am, and here's evidence:

  • Blog posts started/written: 34

  • Blog posts published: 2

That's 32 different ideas, theories and observations I've written and thought about that I never shared with anyone. The truth is that I'm worried about writing something that a more experienced or knowledgeable person may (correctly) say is false or even stupid. It feels shitty being wrong.



One of the reasons it is so important to build things quickly at a startup, is so that you can find out what part(s) of your product is/are bad. The faster you find out how you're wrong, the faster you can get to product/market fit (and build something people love).

You can be confident that when you do start a startup that your product theory will be wrong at the start (or at least very flawed). Being wrong for the sake of being wrong is a waste of time. However if you have a specific goal in mind and you are unsure how to get there, testing ideas you have and being wrong a lot is a great way to be right, fast.

A startup's mission is an exception: you probably have to be right about the raison d'etre from the get-go. But be wrong about what your product should look and feel like by testing many ideas.

My goal is to publish most of the 32 unpublished blog posts by the end of the year. I hope that by writing these posts I'll be better at coming up with new ideas, and starting conversations that may lead me to change my mind.

This could be a good change for myself and my work, but I could be wrong.