University: was it worth it?

Here's a good question: After about 25k in tuition (a bargain compared to some of my American friends), and 4 years of my life to do my undergrad, what do I have to show for it?

For starters, this is a bad time to ask this question. I probably should have asked this after first year and second year, (etc) because its a little late to make any changes. I guess I'll have to settle for retrospection.

I think there are three key elements to answering this question. From least important to most important they are:

  1. Happiness
  2. Development
  3. Opportunities

1. Happiness

Happiness can't be measured in pints or consecutive hours spent awake on a saturday night. I measure it in terms of being able to remember how many things in the last year(s) you are proud of and can remember. Can't think of any? I doubt you'll be able to think of any in 10 years from now when your entire undergrad blurs into nothing but the routes you took to school and the seat you sat in during 2nd year biology. 

I think if you can remember 3 major accomplishments from the last year that you're proud of, you're on the right track. That could be a leading a campus club or earning a B+ in organic chem (*shudder*). These achievements should be independent of what others have accomplished or are capable of. Your achievements should be a reflection of how close you came to reaching your 'potential' (whatever that means). 

Also its good if you had an enjoyable time. I suppose thats relevant to happiness as well, I just don't think its the most important factor of happiness.

2. Development

At this point, how much more do you know and how much more can you do compared to when you started university n years ago? Would you pay (n)7k for it? While its great that you've memorized a comprehensive history of the Qiang Dynasty, and can tell me all the different ways we oppress everybody who isn't a white, heterosexual male, can you actually do something with you knowledge or skills acquired during that process? 

Generally speaking, I'm a proponent of 'the world doesn't owe you squat' worldview. So I think its important that while you blossom as a 'free thinking' individual in university, you should also learn how to do something that other people value, not just that you value (hint: people value knowing how to code a lot more than how to make a latte).

3. Opportunities

Unfortunately I only realized in my last semester or two, that I had immense opportunity at university. A bunch of really smart people were not only forced to make themselves available to me, but some even enjoyed talking with students. How awesome is that? On top of that, many people in the industry/profession you want to go into will make themselves available to get coffee if you send enough cold emails, just because you are a university student (its a great way to get a head-start on finding a summer job).

U of T, my alma mater, is a tough school. Its comprised of tens of thousands of the brightest and most hard working students from Toronto and across the globe. Everyone competes for spots on a bell curve, that has the same grade distribution of York U (insert York U joke here). I had the opportunity to develop myself through exchange ideas and spend time with lots of capable and intelligent students there, just like every university student (except York U students).

Parting Thoughts

I think theres a serious lack of self reflection among students in university. Big questions like "What skills have I developed", and "What do I even remember from the last 2 years" go unanswered. I went my entire university career without asking these questions, though I was lucky enough to come out alright. I think I could have done a lot better for myself if I had thought about this years ago, but hopefully some of you will have the opportunity to do so while you can still make changes.

University is expensive, and you don't get the 4 years you spent there back when you leave. Make sure its where you want to be right now, and that you are getting all you want out of it.